Home Artists - A to K Artists - A Aesop’s Fables

Aesop’s Fables

Aesop’s Fables formed in Sydney, Australia, in 1969.

A polished harmony-pop band producing everything from jazz standards through to R&B, psychedelia, hard rock and bubblegum, Aesop’s Fables never became a major force on the national scene, but some of their members went on to bigger and better things.

The band were runners-up in the Hoadley’s Battle of the Sounds competition but split up without recording.

In February 1970, Gary Moberley and Russell Dunlop revived the band (initially as the New Aesop’s Fables) with Brenda Glover (ex-Jet Set) replacing Sheryl Blake, Brian Holloway (guitar) replacing Jimmy Doyle and Owen Booth (bass) replacing Michael Lawler.

Melbourne mainstay Les Stacpool replaced Holloway after two months. Holloway joined Ronnie Charles (ex-The Groop) in a band called Captain Australia and the Honky Tonk, with whom he travelled overseas.

Glover was a blues belter in the vein of Wendy Saddington and Alison McCallum and helped steer the band down a more rock-oriented path.

Bassist Charlie Tumahai replaced Booth in mid-1970, but the band had broken up by October.

Aesop’s Fables’ sole single, Little Yellow Pills, came out on the Generation label in February 1971. A month later, Brenda Glover issued a solo single on the Violet’s Holiday label – a cover version of The Rolling StonesJumpin’ Jack Flash.

With the break-up of Aesop’s Fables, Stacpool and Tumahai made plans for a new band, but Tumahai joined Nova Express briefly before moving on to Healing Force.

Stacpool issued a solo single on Generation in November 1971 – a version of Neil Young‘s Down by the River. He went on to be an in-demand session player.

Organist Gary Moberley’s previous band, The Ramrods, is best remembered for being managed by future Australian Prime Minister Paul Keating. Barry Connors (vocals), Barry Brady (guitar), Ken Kramer (bass) and Quentin Chadwick (drums) completed The Ramrods’ line-up. The band issued two singles on EMI/Parlophone, Since I Don’t Have You (1966) and You Shoulda Held On (1966). In 1988, reissue specialists Raven combined the singles on the 12-inch EP Enfield Energy.

Sheryl Blake
Jimmy Doyle
Gary Moberley
Michael Lawler
Russell Dunlop
Brenda Glover
Brian Holloway
Owen Booth
Les Stacpool
Charlie Tumahai