Home Television Drama Division 4

Division 4

1 9 6 9 – 1 9 7 5 (Australia)
300 x 60 minute episodes

division4_32Another Australian cop drama from Crawford Productions, Division 4 was set in the fictional Yarra Central police station staffed by a mixture of uniformed and plain clothes police.

The Nine Network production was similar to Homicide (which was already a huge hit on the Seven Network) with a mixture of filmed location footage and videotaped indoor footage.

Division 4 was much honoured in its lifetime and won many awards – of particular note are those won by Gerard Kennedy as best actor.division4_001

Kennedy had joined Division 4 at the beginning (fresh from his success in Hunter) and his portrayal of the spiky-haired Detective Sergeant Frank Banner represents his best work in Australian film and television.

The other regular characters at Yarra Central made an equally strong impression.

Before appearing in Division 4 Chuck Faulkner had been the first newsreader at TCN9 in 1956, and singer Ted Hamilton also changed persona, turning in good performances as Constable Kevin Dwyer.

The show was also responsible for introducing Andrew McFarlane.

Division 4 was axed not long after Kennedy left the show, although respected actor and Crawford’s regular John Stanton had replaced him. By 1976, Homicide and Crawford’s other cop show, Matlock Police (1971–75), had also been axed.

Original proposed titles for the series included Saints and Sinners and Police File.

DS Frank Banner 
Gerard Kennedy
DC Mick Peters 

Terence Donovan
Senior DS Keith Vickers 

Chuck Faulkner
PC Kevin Dwyer 

Ted Hamilton
Sgt Scotty MacLeod
Frank Taylor
WPC Margaret Stewart
Patricia Smith
WPC Jane Bell
Rowena Wallace
PC Roger Wilson
Andrew McFarlane
PC Bob Parry
Clive Davies