Home Television Comedy And Mother Makes Five

And Mother Makes Five

1 9 7 4 – 1 9 7 6 (UK)
26 x 25 minute episodes

This charming sequel to And Mother Makes Three saw scatter-brained widow Sally Harrison re-marry.

Her new husband was widower and antiquarian bookseller David Redway, who also had a child of his own, Jane.


The domestic scope of this new series was much the same as the original, with Wendy Craig as harassed as before and the children growing older but remaining as wholesomely brattish as before.

Four series’ were made in total, with Series One (7×30 mins) airing on Wednesdays from 1 May  to 12 June 1974 · Wed, Series Two (6×30 mins) screening from 22 October to 26 November 1974 on Tuesdays, Series Three (7×30 mins) from 4 June to 16 July 1975 on Wednesdays, and Series Four (6×30 mins) airing from 7 January to 11 February 1976 on Wednesdays.

Wendy Craig wrote a number of the episodes under the pseudonym, Jonathan Marr.


Sally Redway 
Wendy Craig
David Redway 

Richard Coleman
Simon Harrison 

Robin Davis
Peter Harrison 

David Parfitt
Jane Redway 

Maxine Gordon
Auntie Flo 

Valerie Lush
Joss Spencer 

Tony Britton
Monica Spencer 

Charlotte Mitchell 


Where Our Caravan Is Resting | The Matter Of Tiny Feet | Seed Of Suspicion | To The Aid Of The Party | Wish You Were There | If I Can Help Somebody | Fair Exchange | Love’s Labours Lost | Double Standards | Bridging The Gap | For Richer For Poorer | Date Data | Part Of The Furniture | Growing Pains | Goodbye Mr Turnbull | Friends And Neighbours | The Mating Test | Legs Eleven | Art For Art’s Sake | Recharging The Batteries | Words And Pictures | None So Blind | Love Is A Most Confounded Thing | Unlicensed Premises | Sally’s Diary | Jobs For The Boy