Home Movies by Decade Movies - 1950s Inn of the Sixth Happiness, The (1958)

Inn of the Sixth Happiness, The (1958)

The true story of English servant girl Gladys Aylward (Ingrid Bergman) who becomes a missionary in China during World War II and leads a group of orphans through perilous enemy territory and across mountains to safety.

Gladys has to overcome her initial inability to speak Chinese, the Chinese fear of foreign devils and her revulsion at certain customs like foot-binding and public executions by axe – but she is soon serving the local government as a social service worker and is as respected in her community as the mandarin himself.

The outdoor scenes were filmed almost entirely in North Wales while the studio work took place in Borehamwood, England.

This was the final film of Robert Donat who died during its making.

Gladys Aylward
Ingrid Bergman
Captain Lin Nan
Curt Jurgens
Mandarin of Yang Cheng
Robert Donat
Michael David
Jeannie Lawson
Athene Seyler
Sir Francis Jamison
Ronald Squire
Dr Robinson
Moultrie Kelsall
Mr Murfin
Richard Wattis
Peter Chong
Tsai Chin
Secretary at China Inland Mission
Edith Sharpe
Sir Francis’ Cook
Joan Young
Miss Thompson
Noel Hood
Burt Kwouk

Mark Robson