Home Artists - A to K Artists - B Bam Balams, The

Bam Balams, The

Singer/songwriter Brendan Kibble formed The Bam Balams in Sydney in August 1984.

The line-up of Kibble, Brad Fitzpatrick (ex-Division 4), Steve Cole and Matt Manchester recorded the singles Deliver My Love (November 1985) and No-One Else (June 1986) for the Citadel label. Both were produced by former-Radio Birdman singer Rob Younger.


Kibble broke up the band at the end of 1986 and formed a new line-up with Steve Carlin, Amr Z Abdallah and Warren Elford. Citadel’s sister label Green Fez issued the next single, Surfin’ In The Swamp, in March 1988.

The band broke up again and Kibble received an invitation from ex-Long Ryders singer/guitarist Sid Griffin to join his new band in Los Angeles. Kibble declined the offer and decided to reform The Bam Balams (again) with Ian Little and Joe Breen. Abdallah remained from the previous lineup.

The lavishly packaged album The Genuine Rock & Roll Medicine Show was released in December 1988, which produced the single Wheel Of Fortune.


Abdallah left in 1989 and was replaced by Greg Marchant.

The band’s next single, Hellfire (written about Jerry Lee Lewis) was released in November 1989 and Dave Castellari replaced Marchant in 1990. The Bam Balams released their final record, the 12″ EP Extended Play, shortly thereafter before calling it a day.

While never achieving commercial success, The Bam Balams were darlings of the Aussie independent scene for six years.

Brendan Kibble 
Vocals, guitar
Brad Fitzpatrick
Guitar, vocals
Steve Cole
Bass, vocals
Matt Manchester
Drums, vocals
Steve Carlin
Amr Z Abdallah
Bass, organ
Warren Elford
Ian Little

Joe Breen

Greg Marchant

Dave Castellari