Home Artists - A to K Artists - B Band of Joy

Band of Joy

Band of Joy formed in 1966 in West Bromwich with Chris Brown (keyboards), Vernon Pereira (guitar) and singer Robert Plant – who would go on to later fame as the frontman for Led Zeppelin.

Plant left the group after a few months and a new incarnation of the band included drummer John Bonham (who also went on to Led Zep), Kevyn Gammond on guitar and Paul Lockey on bass.

Their brand of soul and blues was popular with Birmingham mods and the group recorded a number of demo recordings in early 1968 but broke up in May 1968 when a recording contract failed to materialise.

Albeit briefly, lead guitar duties were taken by Dave Pegg, who later played bass with Fairport Convention and Jethro Tull.

Plant and Bonham recruited bassist John Hill and guitarist Mick Strode to join a temporary line-up for a 1968 tour.

Kevyn Gammond and Paul Lockey revived Band of Joy in 1977, adding John Pasternak (bass), Michael Chetwood (keyboards) and Peter Robinson (drums) to the lineup. The two albums recorded with this line-up had progressive melodies, blues hooks and experimentation with new sounds blending the sounds of the punk movement with classic genres of rock, blues and progressive influences. The group called it a day in 1983.

In 2010, Robert Plant formed a new band and record an album as Robert Plant & the Band of Joy. The album reached #8 on the Rolling Stone list of the 30 Best Albums of 2010. The band appeared at the Roundhouse, London for a special performance at the BBC Radio 2 Electric Proms in October 2010.

Robert Plant
Vernon Pereira 
Chris Brown
John Bonham
Kevyn Gammond
Paul Lockey
John Hill
John Kelsey
Mick Strode
Dave Pegg
John Pasternak
Bass, vocals
Michael Chetwood
Keyboards, vocals
Peter Robinson