Home Artists - A to K Artists - C Cutting Crew

Cutting Crew

Cutting Crew was formed in 1985 by English vocalist Nick Van Eede and Canadian guitarist Kevin Scott MacMichael. The duo made demos which led to a recording contract with Siren Records, and the addition of Colin Farley (bass) and Martin ‘Frosty’ Beedle (drums) in 1986.

The group never really capitalised on the runaway success of their first hit, (I Just) Died In Your Arms Tonight, which was a #1 in America and Canada (#4 in the UK)

Their 1987 singles were One For The Mockingbird – which reached only #52 in the UK and #38 in the US – and I’ve Been In Love Before – which is well-remembered but peaked at #24 in the UK and #9 in the US.

The band made three albums, Broadcast (1986), The Scattering (1989) and Compus Mentus (1992) before calling it a day in 1993.

On 31 December 2002, Kevin MacMichael died of lung cancer at the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He was just 51.

In 2005 Van Eede reformed the group with a completely new line-up and released the album, Grinning Souls. The new band toured in the UK and Europe.

English singer/songwriter Mika used (I Just) Died In Your Arms Tonight as the basis for his 2006 debut single, Relax, Take It Easy. The song was a chart hit around the world.

Nick Van Eede
Vocals, guitar
Kevin MacMichael
Colin Farley
Martin ‘Frosty’ Beedle
Tony Moore