Home Artists - A to K Artists - D Demon Fuzz

Demon Fuzz

A seven-piece outfit, Demon Fuzz was launched as Britain’s answer to Santana and signed to Red Bus – the company also behind Mungo Jerry.

Demon Fuzz were some way down the bill at the star-studded Hollywood Festival in Newcastle-Under-Lyme in 1970, alongside FreeBlack SabbathThe Grateful DeadFamily, José Feliciano and Lord Sutch And Heavy Friends (Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck et al).

They released their only album, Afreaka! (a mix of psychedelic soul, dub-heavy funk, progressive rock, Afro-jazz and black acid rock) later in 1970 on the Dawn label (Pyes’ prog-rock subsidiary).

Shortly thereafter, singer Smokey Adams and the rest of the band moved on to pastures new.

Smokey Adams
W. (Winston) Raphael Joseph
Sleepy Jack Joseph
Ray Rhoden
Piano, organ
Paddy Corea
Saxophone, flute, vibes, congas
Clarence Crosdale
Steven John