Home Artists - A to K Artists - F Fixx, The

Fixx, The

College friends Cy Curnin and Adam Woods formed the group in London in 1979, initially calling themselves Portraits.

The pair placed an advert for additional members and recruited keyboardist Rupert Greenall, guitarist Tony McGrail and bassist Russell Mckenzie (later to be replaced by Charlie Barrett).

Their single Lost Planes was not a chart hit but did lead The Fixx to sign a long term recording deal with MCA. Their debut album, Shuttered Room (1982) was strongly influenced by Roxy Music and Ultravox and yielded a couple of minor hits; Red Skies and Stand Or Fall.


Their sophomore album, Reach The Beach, signalled the start of a run of chart hits in the US and also marked the end of Charlie Barrett’s tenure with the band, replaced by Dan K. Brown.

The album reached #12 in the Billboard Top 200 chart, and soon The Fixx were a regular on the MTV playlist with the single Saved By Zero (1983).

It would be the follow-up single, One Thing Leads To Another (1983), that provided their biggest triumph in the charts, reaching #4 in the Billboard Hot 100. The single The Sign Of Fire closed a landmark year for The Fixx.

The album Phantoms (1984) realised another strong single with Are We Ourselves? which climbed to #15 in the States. Unfortunately, only one more minor hit followed with Sunshine In The Shade.

Walkabout (1986) produced the atmospheric single Secret Separation which reached #19 in the US but would be the group’s last major hit. Calm Animals (1989) was the lowest-selling album for The Fixx in America since their debut there and yielded only one minor hit with Driven Out.

Their last appearance in the US charts was in 1991 with How Much Is Enough from the album Ink. The Fixx released two more albums during the 90s – Elemental (1998) and 1011 Woodland (1999) – and although an official break-up was never announced, Dan K. Brown left in 1994.

As of 2008, The Fixx were back on the road playing sell-out shows across North America.

Cy Curnin
Jamie West-Oram
Guitar, vocals
Dan K Brown
Bass, vocals
Charlie Barrett
Rupert Greenall
Keyboards, vocals
Adam Woods
Tony McGrail
Russell Mckenzie