Home Artists - A to K Artists - F Flowers


Flowers was formed in Sydney (Australia) in 1977 by classically trained musician Iva Davies and bass player Keith Welsh. They were joined in 1978 by Michael Hoste on keyboards and drummer Don Brown.

The band built up a strong following as a live act around the pub circuit, providing distinctive cover versions of songs by Roxy Music, David Bowie, Lou Reed, T. Rex, and Ultravox.

By the middle of 1979, John Lloyd (ex-Paul Kelly and the Dots) had replaced Don Brown, with Anthony Smith replacing Michael Hoste on keyboards (Hoste later rejoined the band).

After signing to the independent Regular Records label, Flowers released their debut single, Can’t Help Myself, in May 1980. It reached the Australian Top 10.

Their debut album Icehouse reached # 4 on the Australian album chart and further singles We Can Get Together and Walls also hit the Top 20.

Flowers won the ‘New Talent Award’ at the 1980 TV Week/Countdown Rock Awards and were also nominated for ‘Best Album’ and ‘Best Album Cover’, with Iva Davies also nominated as ‘Best Songwriter’.

In 1981 Flowers signed to Chrysalis Records internationally but were forced to change their name due to legal restrictions and to prevent confusion with a Scottish group who already recorded and performed as The Flowers.

Their last performance using the name Flowers was on 27 June 1981 at the Capitol Theatre in Sydney, after which they took the name of their album and became known as Icehouse.

Iva Davies
Vocals, guitar
Keith Welsh
Bass, vocals
Michael Hoste
Keyboards, vocals
Don Brown
John Lloyd
Anthony Smith