Home Artists - L to Z Artists - L Leyton Buzzards

Leyton Buzzards

This new wave/pop outfit was formed by Geoffrey Deanne and David Jaymes, who then recruited Kevin Steptoe (drums) and Dave Monk (guitar).

Originally playing R&B covers on the pub circuit, they changed direction in 1976 after witnessing the new punk movement at the Roxy Club in London.

By the following year, they had secured a record deal with Small Wonder Records, releasing the single 19 & Mad, and changing their names to things like Nick Nayme (Deanne) to reinforce their new image.

After the single was released, Monk was replaced by Vernon Austin.

The band entered the ‘Band of Hope and Glory’ contest, jointly sponsored by The Sun newspaper and BBC Radio 1, and won the final at the London Palladium. Their prize was a recording contract with Chrysalis, which resulted in the band’s best remembered moment, Saturday Night (Beneath The Plastic Palm Trees).

After an appearance on Top Of The Pops, they shortened their name to The Buzzards but were unable to capitalise on their early success. Their final recording was a one-off single for WEA entitled Can’t Get Used To Losing You, and Deanne and Jaymes left to form the more successful, salsa-flavoured Modern Romance.

Geoffrey Deanne
David Jaymes
Dave Monk
Kevin Steptoe
Vernon Austin