Home Artists - L to Z Artists - P Paddy, Klaus and Gibson

Paddy, Klaus and Gibson

Formed in 1965, this Liverpool ‘supergroup’ featured Paddy Chambers on guitar (ex-The Big Three and The Escorts), Klaus Voormann on bass, and Gibson Kemp on drums (ex-Kingsize Taylor and The Dominoes).

paddyklaus&gibsonTheir three singles included a cover version of Marvin Gaye‘s No Good Without You Baby and the theme song to television’s Quick Before They Catch Us, but despite the patronage of Beatles‘ manager Brian Epstein, the trio failed to secure commercial success.

Plans by Pete Townshend to amalgamate the trio with part of The Who fell apart when tribulations within the latter band were settled.

Paddy, Klaus and Gibson embarked on separate careers late in 1966 with Voormann securing subsequent fame as the illustrator of The Beatles‘ Revolver album cover and also as a member of Manfred Mann and The Plastic Ono Band.

Paddy Chambers
Klaus Voormann

Gibson Kemp