Home Artists - L to Z Artists - R Redhouse


Originally formed as The Redhouse Roll Band, this Geelong (Victoria, Australia) quartet was that city’s premier rock attraction during the mid-1970s. The Redhouse Roll Band provided a very theatrical stage show – along the lines of Alice Cooper – with band members dressing up in skeleton suits or Superman outfits.

In 1973 the band signed a record deal with Atlantic, which resulted in the single Oh! Lucky Man. Taken from the 1973 British feature film of the same name, the band’s version of Alan Price‘s song became a regional hit. But the band went into hibernation and re-emerged in late 1975 as Redhouse, with a completely revised line-up comprising Green, John Dallimore, Jacques De Jongh and Gary Crothall.

Redhouse built up a strong following on the Melbourne pub circuit as a hard-working heavy rock band. In July 1976, De Jongh left the band to join Hush. Graham Matters (on vocals) and Garry Quince (on guitar and keyboards) took his place.

In September, Redhouse entered the studio to record a debut album, One More Squeeze. The album did not reflect the band’s onstage energy and presented as a lightweight guitar-pop LP, although it produced the singles I Like Dancing (October 1976) and Who’s Foolin’ Who? (February 1977).

I Like Dancing peaked at #17 in Melbourne during December 1976, and in March 1977 Quince left to join Finch, with Rob Riley coming in as his replacement.

A third single, Thank You, was released in August 1977 before Graham Matters departed to join the cast of the stage musical A Chorus Line. Riley left in October and De Jongh returned briefly while Hush were off the road.

In December, long-serving bass player Jack Green took over management of the band and Redhouse re-formed with a new line-up of Dallimore, Crothall, Gary’s brother Rick on bass, and Joey Amenta (ex-Taste) on guitar. Amenta did not last long and left in March 1978 to join the Russell Morris Band.

Redhouse continued as a three-piece for several months before finally calling it quits.

In late 1978, John Dallimore, Rick Crothall and Rob Riley formed a new band – a loud, heavy rock band in the tradition of Rose Tattoo and AC/DC. The band were modestly called Dallimore. This band issued one single (and a very catchy one at that), called We Are The Kids, in August 1980.

John Ferguson
Malcolm Donnelly
Jack Green
Bass, vocals
Claude Ragone
John Dallimore
Guitar, keyboards, vocals
Jacques De Jongh
Guitar, vocals
Gary Crothall
Graham Matters
Garry Quince
Guitar, keyboards, vocals
Rob Riley
Rick Crothall
Joey Amenta
Guitar, vocals