Home Artists - L to Z Artists - R Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone

Hailing from Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, Rosetta Stone originally formed as The Young City Stars in 1973 when brothers Terry, Damian and Colin McKee, and their childhood friend Ian Mitchell, played local clubs and dance halls, often opening concerts for The Bay City Rollers.

In 1976, Mitchell left the Young City Stars to join The Bay City Rollers and was replaced by Belfast-born guitarist Andy LeGear. Mitchell returned six months later as the group, now managed by Rollers manager Tam Paton, changed their name to Rosetta Stone.

The (now five-piece) group released two albums – their eponymous debut (released as Rock Pictures in Japan) in 1978 and Caught In The Act in 1979 – and one EP before dissolving in 1984.

Mitchell left the band again in 1979 and was replaced by Paul “Flash” Lerwill, who in turn left in 1982 and was replaced by Enda Walsh.

That same year the EP Hiding From Love was released, after which the group permanently disbanded.

An unrelated British goth rock band appeared in the mid-80s using the Rosetta Stone name.


Damian McKee
Vocals, guitar
Ian Mitchell
Guitar, keyboards
Colin McKee
Bass, violin
Terry McKee
Andy LeGear
Paul “Flash” Lerwill
Enda Walsh