Home Television Comedy New Dick Van Dyke Show, The

New Dick Van Dyke Show, The

1 9 7 1 – 1 9 7 4 (USA)
72 x 30 minute episodes

An attempt by CBS to emulate the sixties success of The Dick Van Dyke Show. The new show saw family man Dick Preston running his own talk show for KXIU-TV in Phoenix, Arizona.

In season three, Dick moved to Hollywood to take a role in a Daytime soap called Those Who Care.

The New Dick Van Dyke Show was written and produced by Carl Reiner who had conceived the original Dick Van Dyke Show (and co-starred as Alan Brady).


Dick Preston
Dick Van Dyke
Jenny Preston 

Hope Lange
Annie Preston 

Angela Powell
Michele ‘Mike’ Preston 

Fannie Flagg
Lucas Preston 

Michael Shea
Bernie Davis 

Marty Brill
Carol Davis 

Nancy Dussault
Ted Atwater 

David Doyle
Dennis Whitehead 

Barry Gordon
Max Mathias 

Dick Van Patten
Margot Brighton 

Barbara Rush