Home Television Kids TV Smurfs, The

Smurfs, The

1 9 8 1 – 1 9 8 9 (Belgium/USA)
256 x 30 minute episodes

These lovable powder blue characters were the creation of Belgian cartoonist Peyo Culliford, who in the late 70s licensed Smurf toys in America.

NBC President Fred Silverman observed how much his own daughter cherished her Smurf doll and quickly devised a cartoon series.

The show chronicled the adventures of the little mushroom-dwelling humanoids and their nemesis, the evil wizard Gargamel.

It became the smash hit of the 1981 – 1982 Saturday morning season and has remained highly popular since.

Papa Smurf 
Don Messick 
Brainy Smurf
Danny Goldman

Lucille Bliss
Paul Winchell
Hefty Smurf 

Frank Welker
Handy Smurf 

Michael Bell
Clumsy Smurf 

William Callaway
Greedy Smurf 

Hamilton Camp
Jokey Smurf 

June Foray
Farmer Smurf 

Alan Young
Vanity Smurf 

Alan Oppenheimer 
Baby Smurf 

Paul Winchell

Keene Curtis
Azrael the Cat
Don Messick