Home Television Drama Colonel March of Scotland Yard

Colonel March of Scotland Yard

1 9 5 5 – 1 9 5 6 (UK)
26 x 25 minute episodes

Boris Karloff played one-eyed detective Colonel March, who operated out of “D-3” – Scotland Yard’s department for “unsolvable” cases.

March’s investigations invariably brought him into contact with the unnatural, the supernatural, and the seemingly impossible in such cases as The Abominable SnowmanThe Sorcerer, The Invisible Knife and The Second Mona Lisa.


The series was based on a collection of short stories by Carter Dickson (John Dickson Carr) which were first published in 1940 under the title The Department of Queer Complaints.

Three episodes were edited together to make a feature film, Colonel March Investigates (1953).

Colonel March
Boris Karloff
Inspector Ames
Ewan Roberts


Passage At Arms | The Talking Head | The Abominable Snowman | At Night All Cats Are Gray | The Case of the Kidnapped Poodle | The Case of the Lively Ghost | The Case of the Misguided Missal | Death and the Other Monkey | The Silent Vow | Death In The Dressing Room | The Strange Event at Roman Fall | Death in Inner Space | The Sorcerer | The Deadly Gift | The Devil Sells His Soul | The Headless Hat | Present Tense | Error At Daybreak | The Silver Curtain | Hot Money | The Stolen Crime | The Invisible Knife | The Missing Link | Murder Is Permanent | The Second Mona Lisa | The New Invisible Man