Home Television Kids TV Secret Garden, The

Secret Garden, The

1 9 5 2 (UK)
8 x 30 minute episodes

Mary Lennox (Elizabeth Saunders) is a young British girl born and raised in India who is returned to England when she is orphaned in an earthquake. She goes to live at her uncle’s remote Yorkshire estate.

Her uncle is desolate and distant due to the death of his wife ten years before.

Mary begins exploring the estate and discovers a garden that has been locked and neglected. Aided by local lad, Dickon (Brian Roper), she begins restoring the garden, and eventually discovers some other secrets of the manor.

This 1952 BBC production utilised both studio videotape and a small amount of film shot on location in the South of England. The series was broadcast on Tuesdays between 29 April and 17 June 1952.

Further BBC productions were made in 1960 (also in black & white) and in 1975 (in colour). All were produced by Dorothea Brooking, who worked miracles with very little financial backing.

Mary Lennox
Elizabeth Saunders
Brian Roper
Colin Craven
Dawson France
Mrs Medlock
Nancy Roberts
Billie Whitelaw
Richard Wade
Ben Weatherstaff
Herbert Smith
Colin’s nurse
Avril Hillyer
Lizabeth Ellen
Carole Lorimer
Mrs Sowerby
Madeleine Vacher
Dr Craven
Walter Horsbrugh
Mr Roach
Gerald Lawson
Archibald Craven
James Raglan