Home Television Drama Tales of the Texas Rangers

Tales of the Texas Rangers

1 9 5 5 – 1 9 5 9 (USA)
52 x 30 minute episodes

As the title suggests, these were straightforward adventure stories concerning the exploits of one of America’s most famous law-enforcement agencies.


Although Rangers Pearson (Willard Parker) and Morgan (Harry Lauter) were regulars, they appeared in a different setting each week, ranging from the Old West of the 1830s to present-day (1950s) Texas, using crime-detection methods appropriate to each era.

The series was, in fact, a survey of the Rangers’ activities over its 120-year history.

Tales Of The Texas Rangers was seen on Saturday afternoons on CBS from September 1955 to May 1957. It then moved to ABC, where it ran at 5:00 pm on Sundays (September 1957 to June 1958) and later Thursdays (October 1958 to December 1958), just prior to its primetime run.

The series was also heard as a radio series in the early 1950s, with Joel McCrea in the lead role of Ranger Pearson.

Ranger Jace Pearson
Willard Parker
Ranger Clay Morgan
Harry Lauter