Home Television Drama Telephone Time

Telephone Time

1 9 5 6 – 1 9 5 8 (USA)
81 x 30 minute episodes

The plays presented in this anthology series had all been adapted from short stories by author John Nesbitt, who also hosted the show, introducing each half-hour episode.

Nesbitt remained as the host of the series when it moved from CBS to ABC in the spring of 1957, although by this time the works of other authors had been included among the presentations. He was replaced as host in September 1957 by academic Dr Frank Baxter.

The subject matter ranged from contemporary to historical, with emphasis on the varied natures and qualities of people, both good and bad.

Most of the players in the series were not major stars, although a number of them – including Cloris Leachman, Charles Bronson, Michael Landon, Mike Connors and Robert Vaughn – did become stars in the 1960s and 1970s.

On an unusual note, famed circus performer and clown Emmett Kelly (the creator of “Weary Willie”) made his dramatic debut here in a story titled ‘Captain from Kopenick.’

John Nesbitt
Dr Frank Baxter