Home Television Drama Treasury Men in Action

Treasury Men in Action

1 9 5 0 – 1 9 5 5 (USA)
191 x 30 minute episodes

A squad of agents headed by “The Chief” (Walter Greaza) went after bad guys who committed crimes that fell under the jurisdiction of the United States Treasury Department – including smugglers, counterfeiters, gunrunners, tax evaders (a favourite), and moonshiners.

Episodes invariably ended with the moral that the government always wins, and thereby received several awards and commendations from official agencies for its public service. Actual government officials sometimes appeared on the show.

Guest stars included James Dean, Charles Bronson, Lee Marvin, Jack Klugman, Russ Conway, Carolyn Jones, Ben Gazzara, Claude Akins and Ed Begley.

The show was broadcast live and aired before Dragnet on NBC’s popular Thursday night lineup. Episodes were later released on video as Federal Men.

The Chief
Walter Greaza