Home Television Drama An Age Of Kings

An Age Of Kings

1 9 6 0  (UK)
15 x 60 minute episodes

A linking together of Shakespeare’s five history plays chronicling the rise and fall of monarchs over the 86 years between Richard II and Richard III.

Spread over 15 episodes, a fortnight apart, these plays were dramatised in sequence to give the overall effect of depicting a continuous stretch of British history, featuring (in order) Richard II, Henry IV, Henry V, Henry VI and Richard III.

anageofkings7 anageofkings5

Always as a backdrop was the lust for the throne and the burdens of wearing the crown.

Michael Hayes directed the plays and the theme music was composed by Sir Arthur Bliss. By the standards of the time, the series was a highly prestigious undertaking, with each episode costing £4,000 (a big budget in 1960), 600 speaking parts, and thirty weeks of rehearsal prior to shooting.

Unlike many BBC productions of the time, An Age of Kings has been preserved in its entirety.

Joan la Pucelle
Eileen Atkins
Doll Tearsheet
Hermione Baddeley
Sean Connery
Richard II
David William
Judi Dench
Henry IV
Tom Fleming
Henry V
Robert Hardy
Henry VI
Terry Scully
Richard III
Paul Daneman
Margaret of Anjou
Mary Morris
Frank Pettingell