Home Television Comedy Mayberry RFD

Mayberry RFD

1 9 6 8 – 1 9 7 1 (USA)
78 x 30 minute episodes

A hit spin-off from The Andy Griffith Show about Sam Jones (Ken Berry), a gentleman farmer and widower who’s elected to the Mayberry Town Council.

Some of Griffith’s most endearing characters, Goober Pyle (George Lindsey) and Aunt Bee (Frances Bavier) among them, moved over to this series and that helped ensure its popularity, at least for a short time, as a gentle depiction of small-town life.

In three years, however, despite still-strong ratings, CBS pulled the plug in a cutback of rural-oriented programming.

Sam Jones
Ken Berry
Aunt Bee

Frances Bavier
Goober Pyle

George Lindsey
Milly Swanson

Arlene Golonka
Howard Sprague

Jack Dodson
Emmett Clark

Paul Hartman
Mike Jones

Buddy Foster

Alice Ghostley