Home Television Drama Clayhanger


1 9 7 6 (UK)
26 x 60 minute episodes

This straightforward adaptation of Arnold Bennett’s trilogy of novels about family life in the ‘Five Towns’ of the Staffordshire potteries during the latter part of the 19th century was ITV’s longest-ever drama. It clocked in at twenty-six hours.

The stunning ATV-produced drama adapted the celebrated Cayhanger Family novels by Arnold Bennett, published between 1910 and 1918.

Peter McEnery and Janet Suzman headed the cast of over 100 as the series followed the coming-of-age story of Edwin Clayhanger (McEnery) as he leaves school, takes up the running of the family printing business, and falls in love with the beautiful Hilda Lessways (Suzman).

Darius Clayhanger
Harry Andrews
Auntie Hamps 

Joyce Redman
Edwin Clayhanger
Peter McEnery
Young Edwin Clayhanger 
William Relton
Hilda Lessways 

Janet Suzman
Janet Orgreave 

Louise Purnell 
Maggie Clayhanger 

Thelma Whiteley 
Big James 
Bruce Purchase
Clara Benbow 

Anne Carroll
Osmond Orgreave 

John Horsley 
Albert Benbow 

Clive Swift 
George Cannon Jr

Timothy Woolgar 
George Cannon 

Denis Quilley
Tertius Inkpen 

Denholm Elliott


Last of a Schoolboy | The Architect | Hilda | The Five Towns Chronicle and Turnhill Guardian | Sin and Romance | Escape to Bleakridge | Centenary | Taking a Share | Brighton | Marriage | Love | Punishment | Laid Aside | The Glorious Jubilee | The Chain is Broken | The Adventure | Epidemic | The Exquisite Burden | Possessions | A Musical Evening | The Orgreave Calamity | Dartmoor | Prisoners | Fall From Glory | Death and Dreams | The Discovery