Home Television Comedy Co-Ed Fever

Co-Ed Fever

1 9 7 9 (USA)
6 x 30 minute episodes

This CBS sitcom featured the young residents of Brewster House, a campus dorm at Baxter College, a formerly all-female college that had just started to admit male students.

Characters included shy and romantic Tuck (David Keith), preppy Doug (Christopher S. Nelson), nutty Gobo (Michael Pasternak), compulsive eater Mousie (Alexa Kenin) who had designs on Tuck, wholesome Elizabeth (Cathryn O’Neil) and sexy Sandi (Heather Thomas). Mrs Selby (Jane Rose) was the looney house-mother.

The show was the third of three ‘frat house’ comedy series launched by various networks that year in an attempt to capitalise on the success of National Lampoon’s Animal House (1978). The others were Delta House on ABC and NBC’s Brothers and Sisters.

All three of the series failed, but Co-Ed Fever was the most disastrous attempt of them all.

The series was so low rated that it never even made it to its regular Monday night time slot. Instead, it aired as a “special preview” the night before – which apparently nobody watched.

In total, six episodes were filmed but CBS ended up cancelling the sitcom after only the one episode was aired.

David Keith
Alexa Kenin
Christopher S. Nelson
Cathryn O’Neil
Michael Pasternak
Tacey Phillips
Heather Thomas
Mrs Selby
Jane Rose
Mr Peabody
Hamilton Camp
Jillian Kesner