Home Television Comedy Delta House

Delta House

1 9 7 9 (USA)
13 x 30 minute episodes

This sitcom version of the movie National Lampoon’s Animal House (1978) followed the continuing misadventures of the most notorious fraternity house on the campus at Faber College, Oregon, in 1963.

Josh Mostel co-starred as Jim “Blotto” Blutarsky, the younger brother of the now-graduated Bluto (played by John Belushi in the movie version).

His Delta frat buddies were sadsack Flounder (Stephen Furst), moustachioed motorcycle maniac Daniel Simpson Day – nicknamed D-Day (Bruce McGill), Delta president Robert Hoover (James Widdoes), womaniser Eric “Otter” Stratton (Peter Fox) and Pinto (Richard Seer).

The corrupt dean, Vernon Wormer (John Vernon, also back from the movie version), frequently conspired with the stuffy and wealthy members of Delta’s rival, Omega House – led by preppy Greg Marmalard (Brian Patrick Clarke) – to plan a way to get the riotous members of Delta expelled.

Wormer’s other cohort in crime was Doug Niedermeyer (Gary Cookson), another Omega House member who was seeking a way to close Delta House.


Unfortunately, the TV version was broadcast during the “family hour” and so stringent rules were placed upon the show from the censors.

The series suffered greatly because so much of what made the movie a box office smash was not allowed in the series because of its time slot.

The show’s time slot changed often, and the Deltas never graduated to a second season.

A young Michelle Pfeiffer guested in a number of episodes as a nameless blonde bombshell co-ed. Gary Cookson recalls; “she put up with a lot – walking around in high heels in a little bikini with lots of padding . . . but you felt there was a protective angel watching over her who would get her through that demeaning role”.

Pfeiffer went on to far greater things in Hollywood.

Dean Vernon Wormer
John Vernon
Kent ‘Flounder’ Dorfman
Stephen Furst
Daniel Simpson Day (D-Day)
Bruce McGill
Robert Hoover
James Widdoes
Eric ‘Otter’ Stratton
Peter Fox
Doug Niedermeyer
Gary Cookson
Mandy Pepperidge
Susanna Dalton
Wendy Goldman
Larry ‘Pinto’ Kroger
Richard Seer
Greg Marmalard
Brian Patrick Clarke
Lee Wilkof
Jim ‘Blotto’ Blutarsky
Josh Mostel
Prof. Dave Jennings
Peter Kastner
The Bombshell
Michelle Pfeiffer