Home Television Kids TV Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries

Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries

1 9 7 7 – 1 9 7 9 (USA)
46 x 60 minute episodes

Prolific young people’s adventure and mystery novel writer Edward Stratemeyer, who wrote under the name Franklin W Dixon (among others), created the popular Tom Swift, Rover Boys and Hardy Boys series.


The Hardy Boys books were turned into a television show that alternated weekly with a series about “girl sleuth” Nancy Drew, a character created by Carolyn Keene, whose book series was later absorbed by the Stratemeyer publishing syndicate. The TV series was called The Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries.

The two teenage sons of world-famous investigator Fenton Hardy, Joe (16) and Frank (18) were the major characters.

The boys had inherited their father’s sleuthing talents and became involved in ghost-chasing, missing people cases, exposing smugglers and solving various other mysteries.


Shaun Cassidy and Parker Stevenson (pictured at left) played Joe and Frank Hardy, and Edmund Gilbert played their father, Fenton, in the series.

Other regulars included Lisa Eilbacher as Callie Shaw and Edith Atwater as Aunt Gertrude.

The Nancy Drew Mysteries starred Pamela Sue Martin as Nancy, a young girl who had a talent for stumbling upon and solving mysteries.

In 1978, The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew joined forces on one weekly show. Pamela Sue Martin left the show at that time and was replaced by Janet Louise Johnson.

Also appearing on the Nancy Drew segments was William Schallert as Nancy’s father, Carson Drew (a criminal lawyer).

boys4Glen A Larsen was the show’s Executive Producer. He produced the series in association with Universal Television.

Joe Hardy
Shaun Cassidy
Frank Hardy 

Parker Stevenson
Nancy Drew 

Pamela Sue Martin (1)
Janet Louise Johnson (2)