Home Television Comedy Foley Square

Foley Square

1 9 8 5 – 1 9 8 6 (USA)
14 x 30 minute episodes

Alexandra Harrigan (called Alex) is a beautiful Assistant District Attorney working out of the Criminal Courts Building at Foley Square in Manhattan.

She works under Bureau Chief Jesse Steinberg (Hector Elizondo) and with Assistant DA Molly Dobbs (Cathy Silvers). Ambitious, eager and totally devoted to her job, she is hoping to become a DA but lacks the prosecutions necessary to achieve the position.


Alex (Margaret Colin, graduating to prime time from soap opera roles) lives at 36 West 34th Street in Manhattan, where her neighbour is Peter Newman (Michael Lembeck), a high school teacher.

Other regular characters included Alex’s secretary Denise Williams (Vernee Watson); office manager Angel Gomez (Israel Juarbe); Alex’s lawyer boyfriend, Carter DeVries (Sanford Jensen); Zito (Robert Costanzo), a cop on the beat; and Spiro Papadopolis (Richard C. Sarafian), the owner of Spiro’s Coffee Shop.

Foley Square premiered on CBS on 11 December 1985.

Alex Harrigan
Margaret Colin
Peter Newman
Michael Lembeck
Molly Dobbs
Cathy Silvers
Jesse Steinberg
Hector Elizondo
Angel Gomez
Israel Juarbe
Carter DeVries
Sanford Jensen
Denise Williams
Vernee Watson
Spiro Papadopolis
Richard C. Sarafian
Robert Costanzo