Home Television Comedy Head Of The Class

Head Of The Class

1 9 8 6 – 1 9 9 1 (USA)
112 x 30 minute episodes
1 x 60 minute episode

Created by Michael Elias and Rich Eustis, and based upon Eustis’s personal experiences as a substitute teacher in New York City, this ABC sitcom starred Howard Hesseman (the former Dr Johnny Fever on WKRP in Cincinnati) as Charles Moore, a substitute teacher at Fillmore High School.

Moore is hired to take over the Individual Honors Program (IHP) class, teaching a class of gifted children of varying ages. Although Moore’s students are book-smart enough, he soon realises they have a lot to learn about life and makes it his mission to expose them to certain of life’s realities.

Fillmore’s principal, Dr Harold Samuels, does not appreciate Moore’s non-academic approach and often becomes a stumbling block that the teacher and his students have to circumvent. All Dr Samuels cares about is that Moore’s students win the city’s Academic Olympics contests.

The school’s assistant principal, Bernadette Meara, does what she can to support Moore.

Moore’s class members include the grade-obsessed Maria Borges, nerdy Arvod Engen, preppy and pretty Darlene Merriman, book-loving Simone Foster, exchange student Jawaharlal Choudhury, heartthrob Alan Pinkard, brainy tough guy Eric Mardian, art-loving Sarah Nivens, heavyset science fiend Dennis Blunden, 12-year-old prodigy Janice Lazorrotto, fast-talking TJ, horny Alex Torres, normal Viki Amory, artistic Aristotle McKenzie and Jasper Kwong.


In 1990 Charlie left and Scottish substitute teacher Billy MacGregor took over as Head of the Class.

MacGregor was played by the funniest man on the planet, Scottish comedian and all-round nice guy, Billy Connolly who went on to his own spin-off series in 1992, simply called Billy, which saw him enter into a marriage of convenience just to stay in America.

In 1998, Head of the Class became the first American television series to film an episode in the Soviet Union.

Charlie Moore 
Howard Hesseman
Dr Harold Samuels 

William G Schilling
Darlene Merriman

Robin Givens
Bernadette Meara

Jeanetta Arnette
Alex Torres

Michael De Lorenzo
Arvod Engen

Dan Frischman
Simone Foster 

Khrystyne Haje
Alan Pinkard

Tony O’Dell
Viki Amory

Lara Piper
Janice Lazorrotto

Tannis Vallely
Maria Borges

Leslie Bega

Rain Pryor
Jawaharlal Choudhury
Jory Husain
Eric Mardian

Brian Robbins
Sarah Nivens

Kimberly Russell
Dennis Blunden

Dan Schneider
Aristotle McKenzie

De’vereaux White
Jasper Kwong

Jonathon Ke Quan
Billy MacGregor 

Billy Connolly