Home Television Kids TV Simon Townsend’s WonderWorld

Simon Townsend’s WonderWorld

1 9 7 9 – 1 9 8 7 (Australia)
2000 x 30 minute episodes

This Australian children’s television series first aired in September 1979, after six years of research and two pilots. It was produced by Network Ten Australia with the constantly chuckling former conscientious objector, Simon Townsend.

The show emphasised fun and positive aspects of the world (sometimes painfully so) but also tackled the serious subjects that can affect kids.

Tragedy struck when Townsend’s on-screen bloodhound, Woodrow died. Greater tragedy struck when one of the regular reporters, Edith Bliss, had an ill-fated bash at pop stardom, with a saccharine version of Anything Goes.

Bliss passed away in May 2012 after a long illness. She was just 53.

In February 1998, at the age of 52, Simon Townsend suffered a stroke and lost the use of his left hand and arm. Fortunately, he recovered some use of it later.

Jonathan Coleman passed away on 9 July 2021, aged 65, from prostate cancer.

Simon Townsend
Jonathan Coleman
Edith Bliss
Hugh Piper
Angela Catterns
Brett Clements
Hugh Munro
Sandra Meagher
Wednesday Kennedy
Adam Bowen
Sheridan Jobbins
Phillip Tanner