Home Television Kids TV Swish of the Curtain, The

Swish of the Curtain, The

1 9 8 0 (UK)
4 x 30 minute episodes

This BBC series featured a group of seven precocious posh boys and girls who start their own theatre company – the Blue Door Theatre Company – in a disused chapel and produce plays.

Nigel (Simon Cowell-Parker) designs scenery, Jeremy (Dominic Savage) composes music, Sandra (Sarah Greene) makes costumes and “Bulldog” (Ashley Knight) shines in comic roles.

The kids have to work hard to be taken seriously and to impress the judges of the Seymore Trophy acting competition in a bid to be allowed to attend drama school to realise their dream of a career in the professional theatre.

The short series – made by the BBC in association with the Australian Broadcasting Commission – was based on a 1941 children’s novel by an author called Pamela Brown.

Lynette Darwin
Amanda Kirby
Jeremy Darwin
Dominic Savage
Mrs Darwin
Shirley Dixon
Nigel Halford
Simon Cowell-Parker
Percy ‘Bulldog’ Halford
Ashley Knight
Victoria ‘Viccy’ Jane Halford
Sally Jane Jackson
Mrs Halford
Marian Diamond
Mr Halford
Peter Clay
Sandra Fayne
Sarah Greene
Madeleine ‘Maddy’ Fayne
Jayne Stevens
Mrs Fayne
Jane Briers
Mr Fayne
Davyd Harries
Mrs Potter-Smith
Mona Bruce
Mrs Bell
Jeanne Watts
Mr Bell
David Stoll
Mr Darwin
Robert Austin
Mrs Fortune
Joyce Windsor
Mr Fortune
Derek Ensor
Eliza Buckingham