Home Television Drama We’ll Meet Again

We’ll Meet Again

1 9 8 2 (UK)
13 x 50 minute episodes

“Overpaid, oversexed and over here” was the familiar description applied to US military personnel stationed in Britain during World War II, and this 13-part drama set out to prove its validity.

It is 1943, and for three-and-a-half long years, the small East Anglian town of Market Wetherby has been doggedly getting on with the war – contending with ration books and shortages, ‘Digging for Victory’ and listening to news of the war on the ‘wireless’.

Into this quiet corner of wartime tranquillity arrive the 525th Bomber Group of the US Eighth Air Group.

Welcoming Flying Fortress bombers and 2,500 American officers and men does not come easily to the inhabitants of this sleepy village. The war-weary British and the brash American GIs sometimes clash, but friendships are also forged as the series explores the human conflicts that arise with the background of wartime.

At the forefront of the action is Helen Dereham (Susannah York), a cool, classical doctor in the small village hospital. Ronald Hines is her husband, an army major who goes away to fight, and American star Michael Shannon features as US Air Force Major Jim Kiley, second-in-command at the US airbase.

The Dereham’s daughter, Patricia (Lise Ann McLaughlin) is also present, having refused to return to her academic studies at Cambridge.

Local resentment to the ‘intruders’ is fuelled by grouchy grocer and ARP warden, Albert Mundy (Ray Smith), but there is more of a welcome at the pub, The Plough, run byJack Blair (Patrick O’Connell) and his two daughters, the flighty Rosie (Lynne Pearson) and the more sensible Violet (Kathryn Pogson).

Chuck Ericson (Joris Stuyck) is the American NCO who saves Violet’s life.

Only one series of We’ll Meet Again was ever made, despite a public protest for more. The show’s modest budget meant only one real B-17 bomber was seen, with the rest of the action involving models or stock footage.

Dr Helen Dereham
Susannah York
Major Ronald Dereham
Ronald Hines
Major James Kiley
Michael Shannon
Jack Blair
Patrick O’Connell
Rosie Blair
Lynne Pearson
Sgt. Elmer Jones
James Saxon
Sgt. Hymie Stutz
Lou Hirsch
Peter Mundy
Patrick Pearson
Vi (Violet) Blair
Kathryn Pogson
Albert Mundy
Ray Smith
Vera Mundy
June Barry
Patricia Dereham
Lise Ann McLaughlin
Colonel Rufus Krasnowici
Ed Devereaux
Capt. Red Berwash
Gavan O’Herlihy
Letty Mundy
Natalie Ogle
Sally Bilton
Carolyn Pickles
Master Sgt. Mac McGraw
Christopher Malcolm
Master Sgt. Chuck Ericson
Joris Stuyck
Betty Bilton
Holly Watson
Sgt. Mario Bottone
David Baxt
Sister Dickson
Gillian Phelps
Ruby Bilton
Julia McCarthy
Captain Lester Carson
Richard LeParmentier