Home Artists - L to Z Artists - O Oppressed, The

Oppressed, The

The Oppressed was an Oi! band formed in March 1981 in Cardiff by Russell Payne (guitar), his brother Ronnie (bass), Gary Tier (drums) and Martin Brennan (vocals).

After several changes, it was the line-up with Roddy Moreno (vocals), his brother Dom (bass), Russell Payne (guitar) and Lee Jenkins (drums), that lasted about two years before breaking up in 1984.


Most of the musicians in the band’s various line-ups were skinheads.

Throughout the band’s career, the members (especially vocalist Roddy Moreno) openly expressed opposition to racism and fascism in their lyrics, interviews and on-stage comments.

The band had ties to other anti-racist groups, such as Anti-Fascist Action and Skinheads Against Racial Prejudice (SHARP).

Their debut LP Oi! Oi! Music! was released on their own label – Oppressed Records – in 1984. This album was re-released as Oi! Oi! Music (23 Oi! anthems) on CD with seven bonus tracks by Captain Oi! Records in 2001.

Martin Brennan 
Russell Payne 

Ronnie Payne 

Gary Tier 

Roddy Moreno 

Dom Moreno 

Lee Jenkins