Home Television Drama Oliver Twist

Oliver Twist

1 9 6 2 (UK)
13 x 25 minute episodes

This early BBC adaptation of the legendary Charles Dickens novel starred Bruce Prochnik as Oliver, Max Adrian as Fagin, Melvyn Hayes as The Artful Dodger, Peter Vaughan as Bill Sikes and Carmel McSharry as Nancy.

Shown in a Sunday teatime slot previously occupied by children’s serials, the murder of Nancy by Bill Sikes in the final episode shocked viewers and was the subject of huge protest from TV monitoring organisations. The Postmaster-General, Mr Bevins, called it “brutal and quite inexcusable” when speaking in the House of Commons.

Oliver Twist
Bruce Prochnik
Max Adrian
Artful Dodger
Melvyn Hayes
Bill Sikes
Peter Vaughan
Carmel McSharry
John Carson
Mr Brownlow
George Curzon
Mr Bumble
Willoughby Goddard
Mrs Bumble
Peggy Thorpe-Bates
Charley Bates
Alan Rothwell
Mr Grimwig
William Mervyn
Mrs Maylie
Noel Hood
Harry Maylie
John Breslin
Noah Claypole
Barry Wilsher
Mrs Bedwin
Madeleine Christie
Rose Maylie
Gay Cameron
Dr Losberne
Lloyd Pearson
Tom Chitling
Peter Furnell
Mr Sowerberry
Donald Eccles
Mrs Sowerberry
Barbara Hicks
Toby Crackit
Harry Landis
Old Sally
Aimée Delamain
Aubrey Morris