Home Television Drama Special Branch

Special Branch

1 9 6 9 – 1 9 7 4 (UK)
52 x 50 minute episodes

The debut series from Euston Films (Thames TV offshoot and home of The Sweeney and Minder) featuring the tough guys of the Special Branch – the division of Britain’s police force that investigated activities of political agitators, spies, industrial plotters and national security threats.

Four series’ were made, starring Derren Nesbitt as Detective Chief Inspector Jordan and Wensley Pithey as Superintendent Eden. Patrick Mower starred as Detective Inspector Haggerty.

By 1972 Haggerty was gone, and pock-marked Cockney actor George Sewell played Detective Chief Inspector Alan Craven, the new head of Scotland Yard’s SB Division.

Viewers missed Mower and he came back to the series later.

DCI Jordan 
Derren Nesbitt
Supt. Eden 

Wensley Pithey
Det. Supt. Inman 
Fulton Mackay
DCI Tom Haggerty 

Patrick Mower
Chief Supt. Knight 
Richard Leech
Cmdr. Nichols 

Richard Butler

Paul Eddington
DS North 

Roger Rowland
DCI Alan Craven 

George Sewell
Commander Fletcher 

Frederick Jaeger
DS Holmes 

Susan Jameson