Home Television Drama Nowhere Man

Nowhere Man

1 9 9 5 – 1 9 9 6 (USA)
25 x 45 minute episodes

“My name is Thomas Veil . . . or at least it was. I’m a photographer. I had it all – a wife, Alyson, friends and a career. And in one moment it was all taken away. All because of a single photograph. I have it; they want it and they will do anything to get the negative. I’m keeping this diary as proof that these events are real. I know they are . . . They have to be.”

In 1994, while in South America, photojournalist Thomas Veil (Bruce Greenwood) takes a picture of four men being hanged by what appear to be American soldiers. John labels the picture ‘Hidden Agenda’ and files it away.

One year later, while in a restaurant with his wife, Alyson (Megan Gallagher) his life changes.

After returning from the restroom, he finds that he is a man without a past. Alyson is with another man (her husband) and doesn’t recognise Thomas, his friends and family are strangers, his studio has been destroyed, his ‘Hidden Agenda’ photograph has been taken (but not the negative) and his art gallery show has vanished. There is no trace of Veil’s past.

Veil realises the negative he has is the key to unravelling the mystery and it is made clear that “some mysterious organisation” is pursuing him – but why have his wife, friends and family gone along with the conspiracy?

He is captured and placed in a sanitarium in a failed attempt to break him, but he manages to escape and begins a desperate, dangerous search to find out who is pursuing him and why the negative to ‘Hidden Agenda’ is so important.

Nowhere Man was cancelled after only one season. Unfortunately, the series ended with a cliffhanger that was never resolved.

Thomas Veil
Bruce Greenwood
Alyson Veil
Megan Gallagher