Home Television Kids TV Pingwings, The

Pingwings, The

1 9 6 1 – 1 9 6 3 (UK)
1 9 6 5 (UK)
18 x 10 minute episodes

This series of tales of a family of small, knitted, penguin-like creatures was the first Smallfilms production to use stop-motion animation instead of cut-out drawings. The idea for the series came when Oliver Postgate saw a small knitted penguin which Peter Firmin’s sister had made for Peter’s daughter.

The Pingwing family comprised Mr Pingwing (who was portrayed as less than bright but loves his family); Mrs Pingwing (who always wore an apron); eldest son Paul Pingwing  (who was technically minded and overconfident); younger sister Penny Pingwing (who also wore an apron – let’s get those stereotypes in early for the kids!); and Baby Pingwing (who hatched in episode four and frequently got into trouble).

Other characters included a wise pig-like creature called “The Pog” who Mr Pingwing often turned to for advice in later episodes and Gay the Goat (a live-action character) who was deaf and kindly.

Other live-action sequences featured Mr and Mrs Farmer and Minnie the cat.

The Pingwings lived in a barn on Berry Down Farm (which in reality was owned by Peter Firmin’s family). All of the voices were provided by Oliver Postgate and Olwen Griffiths.


The Happy Event | The Ice Cream Tree | The New House | Baby Pingwing | The Sorry Birds | The Seaside || Robinson Pingwing | The Fish | Mrs Pingwing | The Flying Birds | The Rag Doll | Visitors || A Game of Spoonball | Moving House | Buying and Selling | Ice Cream for Tea | A Proper Kitchen | Mrs Pingwing’s Entertainment