Home Television Drama Crime of Passion

Crime of Passion

1 9 7 0 – 1 9 7 3 (UK)
32 x 60 minute episodes

Created by Ted Willis using authentic French court cases, this British-made courtroom drama set in France, concerned the trials of murderers who committed crimes of passion (a legitimate defence in France).

The series featured Maître Lacan (John Phillips) for the prosecution and Maître Savel (Daniel Moynihan) for the defence. Another lawyer, Maître Dubois (Bernard Archer), was seen in the last series.

Each episode, titled after its lead character (Catherine, Danielle, Helene, Celine, Gerard etc), opened showing the crime in question before moving on to the trial, and finally the verdict of the judge, the President of the Court (Anthony Newlands).

Guest stars included Felicity Kendal, Johnny Briggs, Ralph Bates, Rosalie Crutchley and Tessa Wyatt.

President of the Court
Anthony Newlands
Maître Lacan
John Phillips
Maître Savel
Daniel Moynihan
Maître Dubois
Bernard Archer
Maître Dupont
John Glyn-Jones