Home Television Kids TV Journey To The Center of the Earth

Journey To The Center of the Earth

1 9 6 7 – 1 9 6 9 (USA)
17 x episodes

Inspired more by the 1959 movie of the same name than the Jules Verne novel, this cartoon chronicled the adventures of Professor Oliver Lindenbrook (voiced by Ted Knight) and his companions on their adventure following the long-lost trail of Arnie Saccnuson, a lone explorer who made a descent to the earth’s centre, but died with its secret when breaking his leg.

Along for the ride were the professor’s niece Cindy (Jane Webb), her school friend Alec McEwen (Pat Harrington Jr.), and their guide Lars (also voiced by Pat Harrington Jr.)

Cindy brought along her pet duck Gertrude for comic relief.

As if the earth’s core weren’t dangerous enough, the team was constantly put in peril by the villainous Count Saccnusson (also voiced by Ted Knight), the last living descendent of the once-noble family, and his goon Torg.

Possessing a power-mad scheme to claim the earth’s core for his own sinister purposes, the Count instructs Torg to set off an explosion. However, when detonated, the blast seals the entrance and traps them all.

This series was a natural for animation since the writers were able to invent a limitless array of strange creatures and beings who inhabited the planet’s inner depths.

Journey to the Center of the Earth ran for 17 cliffhanging episodes, which were rebroadcast in the show’s second season.

Professor Oliver Lindenbrook
Ted Knight
Cindy Lindenbrook 

Jane Webb
Alec McEwen 

Pat Harrington Jr.

Pat Harrington Jr.
Count Saknussen 

Ted Knight

Pat Harrington Jr.