Home Television Kids TV Maid Marian and Her Merry Men

Maid Marian and Her Merry Men

1 9 8 9 –  1 9 9 4 (UK)
25 x 25 minute episodes
1 x 50 minute episode

Debuting in 1989 on BBC One, Maid Marian and her Merry Men ran for four series, with the last episode shown in 1994. The show was a comedic retelling of the legend of Robin Hood, placing Maid Marian (Kate Lonergan) in the role of leader of the Merry Men, and reducing Robin (Wayne Morris) to an incompetent and cowardly ex-tailor.

With her ruthless band of freedom fighters – including dwarf Little Ron (Mike Edmonds), Rastafarian Barrington (Danny John-Jules), and a stupid fat bloke called Rabies (Howard Lew Lewis) – Marian worked to save the villagers of Worksop from the tyranny of King John (Forbes Collins) and his cunning henchman, the Sheriff of Nottingham (Tony Robinson, pictured below right, who also created and wrote the show).

Maid Marian
Kate Lonergan
Robin of Kensington
Wayne Morris
Danny John-Jules
Little Ron
Mike Edmonds
Howard Lew Lewis
King John
Forbes Collins
The Sheriff of Nottingham
Tony Robinson
Guy of Gisbourne 
Ramsay Gilderdale
Mark Billingham
David Lloyd
“Rotten” Rose Scargill
Siobhan Fogarty
Hilary Mason
Robin Chandler
Kerry Potter