Home Television Comedy Spin City

Spin City

1 9 9 6 – 2 0 0 2 (USA)
145 x 30 minute episodes

Michael J Fox starred as the hyper-controlling, overworked and highly competitive Deputy Mayor of New York, Michael Flaherty.

Mike took care of PR for the dim-witted Mayor Randall M. Winston Jr (Barry Bostwick) and much of the show’s humour revolved around unfolding political crises and the Mayor’s embarrassing responses to them.

Randall rarely took his job seriously and was oblivious to other people’s feelings, believing that his most redeeming quality was his “trustfulness”. Randall also had a habit of using the nonsense word “further-the-less” as a real word in conversations, and if faced with an important meeting or keeping his massage appointment at the same time, he opted to get his massage.

Mike’s staff at City Hall comprised stunning blonde Communications Director Caitlin Moore (Heather Locklear); Head of Minority Affairs, Carter Haywood (Michael Boatman); fiercely competitive Chief of Staff Stuart Bondek (Alan Ruck); clueless Press Secretary Paul Lassiter (Richard Kind)who habitually stole office supplies; Speech Writer James Hobert (Alexander Chaplin); and accountant Nikki Faber (Connie Britton) who was a frisky double-entendre factory.

In the final two seasons of the show, Mike went to Washington DC to work as an environmental lobbyist (at which point Michael J Fox left the series) and was replaced by womanising gambler Charlie Crawford (Charlie Sheen).

Mike Flaherty
Michael J. Fox 
Mayor Randall M. Winston Jr

Barry Bostwick 
Paul Lassiter 

Richard Kind 
Carter Haywood 

Michael Boatman 
Caitlin Moore 

Heather Locklear 
Stuart Bondek 

Alan Ruck 
James Hobert 

Alexander Chaplin 
Nikki Faber 

Connie Britton
Janelle Cooper 

Victoria Dillard 
Charlie Crawford 

Charlie Sheen 
Judge Claire Simmons 

Farrah Fawcett 
Abby Lassiter 

Raquel Welch 
Allison Wright 

Olivia d’Abo 
Heidi Klum 

Heidi Klum